Best Synthesia Alternatives
Looking past Synthesia? Here is what each alternative costs and what its entry plan makes, from their own pages.
Updated 25 October 2026. Every figure about another company links to its source below.
Quick answer
For faceless Shorts from an idea, start with DreamWild: 15 DreamCake videos or 20 story Shorts a month, 30 seconds each on Starter.
DreamWild
- Create videos from an idea or script with AI narration, visuals and captions.
- Starter: $29 a month, or $24.50 a month billed yearly
- 15 DreamCake videos or 20 story Shorts a month, 30 seconds each
HeyGen
- “AI videos starring you, made in minutes.”1
- Creator: $29 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly2 3
- AI presenter videos from a script or a prompt, using a ready-made presenter or a custom video avatar of you; each video is paid for in credits, and the credits used depend on the AI model, the length and the complexity2 4
Captions
InVideo
Creatify
DreamWild, Synthesia and the Alternatives
| DreamWild | Synthesia | HeyGen | Captions | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Starter: $29 a month, or $24.50 a month billed yearly | Starter: US$29 per month billed monthly, or US$18 per month billed yearly14 15 | Creator: $29 a month, or $24 a month billed yearly2 3 | Basic: $9.99 a month6 |
| Credits on the entry plan | 1,500 credits a month | Starter adds 1,250 credits a month (15,000 a year) and Pro adds 6,000 (72,000 a year), on top of the 500 credits, 10 minutes of video and 3 survey responses every plan includes14 15 16 | Creator 600 credits a month, Pro from 1,000, Business 1,5002 17 | Basic: 200 credits a month; Max: 500; Frontier: 1,400 (Frontier 2x: 2,800; Frontier 4x: 5,600)6 18 19 20 |
| What the entry plan makes | 15 DreamCake videos or 20 story Shorts a month, 30 seconds each | AI presenter videos, dubbing, surveys and interactive avatars from one shared pool of credits; a finished minute of video uses about 100 credits21 16 | AI presenter videos from a script or a prompt, using a ready-made presenter or a custom video avatar of you; each video is paid for in credits, and the credits used depend on the AI model, the length and the complexity2 4 | Edits your own footage with AI (cuts, B-roll, captions, clips) and generates AI videos, avatars and images, all counted in credits. Prompt to Video costs 16 credits every 6 seconds.5 6 |
| Publishing | Schedule to YouTube, included. You can also download vertical videos for TikTok, Instagram Reels and Facebook. | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages | Not stated on its pages |
| Unused credits | None on Starter; 1 month on Creator, 2 months on Pro, 3 months on Max | No roll over: the monthly allowance and the plan's extra credits reset each billing period, yearly plans get the year's credits upfront, and credits bought separately are valid for 12 months21 | Monthly plans: unused credits roll over for one more month; yearly plans: credits accumulate until the renewal date; credits do not carry over after you cancel4 3 | Unused credits roll over from Basic upward, up to a balance of 3× the monthly allowance22 6 |
Sources
- HeyGen homepage, checked 25 October 2026.
- HeyGen pricing, Free, Creator and Pro billed monthly, checked 25 October 2026.
- HeyGen pricing, Creator and Pro billed yearly, checked 25 October 2026.
- HeyGen pricing FAQ, credits, tiers and cancelling, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions homepage, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions help centre: Understanding Credits, checked 25 October 2026.
- InVideo pricing, checked 8 October 2026.
- Creatify homepage, checked 25 October 2026.
- Creatify pricing, Standard, Pro and Max billed monthly, checked 25 October 2026.
- Creatify pricing, Standard, Pro and Max billed yearly, checked 25 October 2026.
- Creatify pricing, what credits buy and FAQ, checked 25 October 2026.
- Higgsfield Creator Partnership Program, checked 14 October 2026.
- Higgsfield pricing, checked 8 October 2026.
- Synthesia pricing, billed monthly, checked 25 October 2026.
- Synthesia pricing, billed yearly, checked 25 October 2026.
- Synthesia help centre, what credits are and how they work, checked 25 October 2026.
- HeyGen pricing, Business and Enterprise billed monthly, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions pricing, Max and Frontier 1x, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions pricing, Frontier 2x selected, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions pricing, Frontier 4x selected, checked 25 October 2026.
- Synthesia pricing FAQ, credits, roll over and pay per video, checked 25 October 2026.
- Captions pricing page FAQ (answers expanded), checked 25 October 2026.
Figures for each company are what its own pages said on the date shown. Prices change; check the source before you buy.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Does DreamWild's Starter Plan Make?
15 DreamCake videos or 20 story Shorts a month, 30 seconds each, from 1,500 credits a month.
What If A Video Fails?
Failed work costs nothing; you only pay for work that's delivered.